This entry is part 358 of 361 in the series CommanderCast

Hello everyone and welcome to CommanderCast Episode 334! This week, Adam and  Mark are back to the regular program away fro the precons and off to the plane of Ravnica! Today is they go over their overall reaction to the set, the Guild mechanics, and a few of the cards from the set they (mostly Adam) are excited about. 

So pull up your rocking chairs and click the IB!!!

 

Ib Download

 

 

 

 

 

 

CommanderCast Episode 334

Posted: October 15, 2018

 

Intros:

 

Adam

 

Mark

 

Keep up with the conversation on Facebook & Twitter.

 

Community

 

Community reaction & our thoughts on Guilds of Ravnica

 

(We’ll talk about the new commanders next episode)

 

Strategy

 

New Guild keywords

 

 

  • Jump-start

 

      • 702.132a Jump-start appears on some instants and sorceries. It represents two static abilities: one that functions while the card is in a player’s graveyard and another that functions while the card is on the stack. “Jump-start” means “You may cast this card from your graveyard by discarding a card as an additional cost to cast it” and “If this spell was cast using its jump-start ability, exile this card instead of putting it anywhere else any time it would leave the stack.” Casting a spell using its jump-start ability follows the rules for paying additional costs in rules 601.2b and 601.2f–h.

 

  • Rulings:

 

      • You must still follow any timing restrictions and permissions, including those based on the card’s type. For instance, you can cast a sorcery using jump-start only when you could normally cast a sorcery.
      • A spell cast using jump-start will always be exiled afterward, whether it resolves, is countered, or leaves the stack in some other way.
      • If an effect allows you to pay an alternative cost rather than a spell’s mana cost, you may pay that alternative cost when you jump-start a spell. You’ll still discard a card as an additional cost to cast it.
      • If a card with jump-start is put into your graveyard during your turn, you’ll be able to cast it right away if it’s legal to do so, before an opponent can take any actions.

 

 

  • Mentor

 

      • 702.133a Mentor is a triggered ability. “Mentor” means “Whenever this creature attacks, put a +1/+1 counter on target attacking creature with power less than this creature’s power.”
      • 702.133b If a creature has multiple instances of mentor, each triggers separately.

 

  • Rulings:

 

      • Mentor compares the power of the creature with mentor with that of the target creature at two different times: once as the triggered ability is put onto the stack, and once as the triggered ability resolves. If you wish to raise a creature’s power so its mentor ability can target a bigger creature, the last chance you have to do so is during the beginning of combat step.
      • If the target creature’s power is no longer less than the attacking creature’s power as the ability resolves, mentor doesn’t add a +1/+1 counter. For example, if two 3/3 creatures with mentor attack and both mentor triggers target the same 2/2 creature, the first to resolve puts a +1/+1 counter on it and the second does nothing.
      • If the creature with mentor leaves the battlefield with mentor on the stack, use its power as that creature last existed on the battlefield to determine whether the target creature has less power.

 

 

  • Surveil

 

      • 701.41a To “surveil N” means to look at the top N cards of your library, then put any number of them into your graveyard and the rest on top of your library in any order.
      • 701.41b If an effect allows you to look at additional cards while you surveil, those cards are included among the cards you may put into your graveyard and on top of your library in any order.

 

  • Rulings:

 

      • Some spells that instruct you to surveil require targets. You can’t cast a spell without choosing legal targets. If all of those targets become illegal, the spell doesn’t resolve and you won’t surveil.
      • When you surveil, you may put all the cards you look at back on top of your library, you may put all of those cards into your graveyard, or you may put some of those cards on top and the rest of them into your graveyard.
      • You perform the actions stated on a card in sequence. For some spells and abilities, you’ll surveil last. For others, you’ll surveil and then perform other actions.
      • An ability that triggers “whenever you surveil” triggers after you’re done surveilling, even if you have fewer cards in your library than the number of cards you’re instructed to surveil. It even triggers if you have no cards in your library.

 

 

  • Undergrowth

 

      • Typical wording: “Undergrowth — …, where X is the number of creatures in your graveyard.”
      • EX:Necrotic Wound: “Undergrowth — Target creature gets -X/-X until end of turn, where X is the number of creature cards in your graveyard. If that creature would die this turn, exile it instead.”

 

  • Rulings:

 

      • Creature cards with other types, such as artifact creature cards, count for undergrowth abilities.
      • Because tokens aren’t cards, they never count for undergrowth abilities.

 

*Returning keyword: Convoke

 

Technology

Cards we’re most looking forward to in the new set

Adam:

 

Mark:

 

Outtro/Contacts:

 

CommanderCast  – Email: commandercast(at)gmail(dot)com // twitter: (at)CommanderCast

 

Calvin – Email: captainredzone(at)gmail(dot)com  // twitter: (at)CaptainRedZone

 

Mark – Email: mahlerma(at)gmail(dot)com

 

Adam – (at)squire9999 // (at)thetrinisphere

 

Be sure to check out our CommanderCast Facebook page.

 

And a big thanks to everyone here at the CommanderCast Network. We’ll see you next week with more community, strategy, and technology. Until then, LET’S GET IT!

Series Navigation<< CommanderCast 2018 Precon Special, part 4 – Nature’s VengeanceCommanderCast Ep 335 – Guilds of Ravnica pt 2 – Commanders & Cycles >>