This entry is part 383 of 399 in the series CommanderCast

Hello everyone and welcome to CommanderCast Episode 359! We are your weekly source for community, strategy, and technology hosted each and every week on Commandercast.com! On this  week’s episode Mark and Adam are going in on War of the Spark! The Legends, The Gods, and ThePlaneswalkers….well not that much of the planeswalkers but they are discussed. This is our new kinda sorta set review and we hope you enjoy.

So let’s get into it and Click the IB!!!

 

Ib Download

 

 

 

 

 

 

CommanderCast Episode 359

 

Posted: May 13, 2019

 

Intros:

 

Adam

 

Mark

 

Keep up with the conversation on Facebook & Twitter.

 

Community

 

Fancy boxes controversy

 

More gushing & kvetching about the newest set

 

Commanders

 

Strategy

 

Amass in Commander is meh.

 

Amass N (Put N +1/+1 counters on an Army you control. If you don’t control one, create a 0/0 black Zombie Army creature token first.)

 

Rulings:

 

  • It’s possible to control a nontoken Army (perhaps a creature with the changeling ability) and, through combinations of other cards, it’s possible to control multiple Army tokens. When instructed to amass, you may put +1/+1 counters on any of your Army creatures, and you may choose a different one each time.[6]
  • If you don’t control an Army, the Zombie Army token that you create enters the battlefield as a 0/0 creature. Any abilities that trigger when a creature with a certain power enters the battlefield, such as that of Mentor of the Meek, will see the token enter as a 0/0 creature before it gets +1/+1 counters.
  • Although players can respond to the spell or ability that instructs you to amass, once you start to amass, no one can interrupt you. This is true even if you’re creating a new Army — no player can do anything while the Zombie Army creature token is still 0/0, before it gets the counters.
  • Even though the +1/+1 counters represent the growing numbers of Eternals joining your ranks, the Zombie Army creature token is still a single creature. It has two creature types: Zombie and Army.
  • Some spells that amass may require targets. If each target chosen is an illegal target as that spell tries to resolve, it doesn’t resolve. You won’t amass.
  • Some cards that cause you to amass also provide bonuses to “Zombie tokens.” These affect any token that happens to be a Zombie, not just a Zombie Army you’ve amassed.

 

Technology

 

Our favorite cards in War of the Spark.  These aren’t necessarily the big bombs, just cards we heart.

 

Adam  –

Mark –

 

*Honorable mention:

 

Outtro/Contacts:

 

CommanderCast  – Email: commandercast(at)gmail(dot)com // twitter: (at)CommanderCast

 

Calvin – Email: captainredzone(at)gmail(dot)com  // twitter: (at)CaptainRedZone

 

Mark – Email: mahlerma(at)gmail(dot)com

 

Adam – (at)squire9999 // (at)thetrinisphere

 

Be sure to check out our CommanderCast Facebook page.

 

And a big thanks to everyone here at the CommanderCast Network. We’ll see you next week with more community, strategy, and technology. Until then, LET’S GET IT!

Series Navigation<< CommanderCast Ep 358 – Mono-Colored Shells: GreenCommanderCast Ep 360 – More of the Spark >>