This entry is part 399 of 403 in the series CommanderCast

Hello everyone and welcome to CommanderCast Episode 375! This week Mark and Adam are bringing discussions with a discussion on playing with Flashback in Commander! but first, the guys have a quick community talk about some of the new cards showing up in the next set, Throne of Eldraine! Plus some talk about how funny it is to see a CGI guy do flips in Titanic.

Click the IB to find out more!!!

 

Ib Download

 

 

 

 

 

 

CommanderCast Episode 375

Posted: Sept 16, 2019

 

Intros

 

Adam

 

Mark 

 

Keep up with the conversation on Facebook & Twitter.

 

Community

More Throne of Eldraine spoilerz

 

Topic: (options)

  • Why do we need trailers for Magic sets?
  • Do we care that there won’t be rare dual lands in this set?

 

Strategy

 

Flashback strategies 

 

702.33. Flashback

  • 702.33a Flashback appears on some instants and sorceries. It represents two static abilities: one that functions while the card is in a player’s graveyard and another that functions while the card is on the stack. “Flashback [cost]” means “You may cast this card from your graveyard by paying [cost] rather than paying its mana cost” and “If the flashback cost was paid, exile this card instead of putting it anywhere else any time it would leave the stack.” Casting a spell using its flashback ability follows the rules for paying alternative costs in rules 601.2b and 601.2f–h.

Rulings

  • You must still follow any timing restrictions, including those based on the card’s type. You can only cast a sorcery using flashback when you could normally cast a sorcery. Likewise, when an instant (with flashback) is sent to the graveyard, that player may cast it from the graveyard once more during their opponent’s turn.
  • Casting a spell using flashback doesn’t change the mana cost (or converted mana cost) of the spell. You just pay the flashback cost instead.
  • Effects that cause you to pay more or less when casting a spell will also affect what you pay when casting the spell using flashback.
  • A spell cast using flashback will always be exiled afterward, whether it resolves, it’s countered, or it leaves the stack in some other way.

 

Pros:

  • Value!!
  • Occasionally cheaper Flashback costs 

Cons: 

  • Flashback cost is usually higher
  • Gets exiled after being flashed back
  • Small number of cards that grant Flashback
  • Other players don’t appreciate it when you do the Wayne’s World “diddly-do, diddly-do” dream sequence sounds whenever you cast a spell with flashback.

 

 

Technology

 

Flashback-friendly Commanders

 

 

Outtro/Contacts:

 

CommanderCast  – Email: commandercast(at)gmail(dot)com // twitter: (at)CommanderCast

 

Calvin – Email: captainredzone(at)gmail(dot)com  // twitter: (at)CaptainRedZone

 

Mark – Email: mahlerma(at)gmail(dot)com

 

Adam – (at)squire9999

 

Be sure to check out our CommanderCast Facebook page. 

 

And a big thanks to everyone here at the CommanderCast Network. We’ll see you next week with more community, strategy, and technology. Until then, LET’S GET IT!

Series Navigation<< CommanderCast Ep 374 – Morph, morph, morphCommanderCast 2019 Precon Special, part 1 – Primal Genesis >>