This entry is part 4 of 23 in the series Savor That Commander Flavor

Hello true flavor followers! As Newbie Week draws to a close, I can’t help but think about one of the fundamental rules of commander that most new players have questions about: color identity.

Yup, we’re going to commander 101. As such, I’m mostly going to be addressing newbies in today’s feature, but the vets might want to follow along anyway.

“What makes color identity? Why can’t I use Debtor’s Knell in my Jenara deck? Why is the rule there?”

It’s a topic that’s been discussed to death on forums all over the internet, and it’s certainly not going to stop anytime soon. Players have constantly tried to figure out ways to get the issue of color identity resolved beyond their in-house rules, and none of them have succeeded. There’s a good reason for that.

Read the rest of this entry »